DEQA-VET: National VET Policy

National VET Policy

In Germany, vocational education and training (VET) is traditionally the educational pathway chosen by the great majority of young people. The VET system is based on a number of fundamental societal decisions:
  • By broad consensus, all school leavers should have access to initial vocational training;
  • In order to achieve this goal, a strategic concept was agreed with business owners to implement a cooperative system of initial vocational training (the “dual system”);
  • Within this cooperative model of VET, the public sector (government, schools) accepts the private sector as a partner on equal terms; the legal framework for this cooperative system is the foundational Vocational Training Act, which regulates the roles of the different actors.

Initial vocational education and training (IVET) in Germany takes place within state-recognised occupations requiring formal training (“training occupations”) governed by uniform nationwide standards. It teaches the occupational proficiency required for subsequent transition into the labour market. Continuing vocational education and training (CVET) plays a growing role as part of lifelong learning, enabling individuals to improve their occupational proficiency on a continuous basis. The state assumes a relatively minor regulatory and policymaking function.

The further development of vocational schools is aimed above all at improving training quality, although it is increasingly realized that schools need greater autonomy. One element of these efforts at reform is an increase in the financial autonomy of vocational schools via budgeting, i.e. global allocation of budgetary resources (ongoing non-monetary resources, but also increasingly staff funding and funding for investment) to the individual schools. This path is being followed with widely varying degrees of intensity in the individual Länder, depending not only on the issues to which the school administration attaches importance and the Land’s VET policy, but also not least on particular regional features and the demands made on vocational schools.

In the area of in-company training, against the background of the difficult situation on the market for training places in recent years, the burden has increasingly shifted from enterprise to public-sector financing. Here, how the situation develops will be crucially dependent on the extent to which in future the gap between supply and demand in this market is successfully closed.
Proposals for a radical reform of funding of vocational training have been drawn up by an expert commission “Funding Lifelong Learning” convened by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research which submitted its report in July 2004.

The report recommends a standard law on the promotion of learning which covers all the provisions for adult learners, with the exception of those covered by the Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB III). Another proposal by the committee of experts provides for adding the possibility of educational savings to the state assistance in the Wealth Creation Act. The aim is to give groups of people with low incomes who have hitherto stayed away from education special incentives to invest part of their income in lifelong learning.


(Source: U. Hippach-Schneider, M. Krause, Chr.Woll, Vocational Education and training in German -short description, ed. Cedefop (European Centre for the Development of Vocational training), Luxembourg 2007 (Panorama Series 138))

Documents

  • Country Report 2011
    [PDF - 2.05 MB]

     (URL: https://www.deqa-vet.de//_media/PDF_EU/Country_Report_2011.pdf)

  • Movie: Vocational Education and Training in Germany
    [WMV - 143.81 MB]

     (URL: https://www.deqa-vet.de//_media/Video/a14_berufsbildung-in-deutschland_englisch_high.wmv)

  •

Nationale Berufsbildungspolitik

Die berufliche Bildung ist in Deutschland traditionell der Bildungsbereich, für den sich die weit überwiegende Mehrheit aller Jugendlichen entscheidet. Das Berufsbildungssystem basiert auf einigen grundlegenden gesellschaftlichen Entscheidungen:

  • Es gibt einen breiten Konsens, allen Schulabgängern eine berufliche Ausbildung zu bieten;
  • um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, wurde mit den Unternehmern das strategische Konzept vereinbart, ein kooperatives Ausbildungssystem („duales System“) zu implementieren;
  • in diesem Kooperationsmodell der beruflichen Bildung akzeptiert der öffentliche Sektor (Regierung, Schulen) den privaten Sektor als gleichberechtigten Partner; rechtlich getragen wird dieses kooperative System durch ein grundlegendes Berufsbildungsgesetz, das die Rolle der Akteure regelt.

Die berufliche Erstausbildung erfolgt in staatlich anerkannten Ausbildungsberufen mit bundesweit einheitlichen Standards und vermittelt die erforderliche berufliche Handlungskompetenz für den Übergang in den Arbeitsmarkt. Die berufliche Weiterbildung spielt als Teil des lebenslangen Lernens eine wachsende Rolle, um die berufliche Handlungsfähigkeit des Einzelnen fortlaufend zu verbessern. Der Staat hat dabei nur eine geringe Ordnungs- und Gestaltungsfunktion.

Die Weiterentwicklung der berufsbildenden Schulen zielt vor allem auf eine Qualitätsverbesserung der Ausbildung, wobei sich zunehmend die Erkenntnis durchsetzt, dass hierzu eine stärkere Eigenverantwortlichkeit der Schulen notwendig ist. Ein Bestandteil dieser Reformbemühungen ist die Erhöhung der Finanzautonomie der berufsbildenden Schulen durch Budgetierung, d. h. die Globalzuweisung der Haushaltsmittel (laufende Sachmittel, zunehmend auch die Personalmittel sowie die Mittel für Investitionen) an die einzelnen Schulen. Die Intensität, mit der dieser Weg in Deutschland beschritten wird, ist in den einzelnen Bundesländern sehr unterschiedlich und hängt neben den Schwerpunktsetzungen der Schulverwaltungen und der Berufsbildungspolitik in den Ländern nicht zuletzt von regionalen Besonderheiten und den Anforderungen an berufsbildende Schulen ab.

Im Bereich der betrieblichen Ausbildung hat vor dem Hintergrund der angespannten Situation auf dem Ausbildungsstellenmarkt in den letzten Jahren zunehmend eine Lastenverschiebung von der betrieblichen auf die öffentliche Finanzierung stattgefunden. Die weitere Entwicklung wird hier entscheidend davon abhängen, inwieweit es in Zukunft gelingt, die Lücke zwischen Angebot und Nachfrage auf dem Ausbildungsstellenmarkt zu schließen.

Vorschläge für eine grundlegende Neuordnung der Bildungsfinanzierung wurden von einer vom BMBF eingesetzten Expertenkommission „Finanzierung lebenslangen Lernens“ erarbeitet, die im Juli 2004 ihren Schlussbericht vorlegte (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, 2004). Empfohlen wird z. B. ein einheitliches Bildungsförderungsgesetz, in dem alle Leistungen der Förderung erwachsener Lerner (mit Ausnahme derer nach dem SGB III) zusammengefasst werden. Ein weiterer Vorschlag der Expertenkommission sieht vor, die staatliche Förderung im Vermögensbildungsgesetz um die Möglichkeit des Bildungssparens zu erweitern. Für bisher bildungsferne Personengruppen mit geringem Einkommen sollen damit besondere Anreize gesetzt werden, einen Teil ihres Einkommens in lebenslanges Lernen zu investieren.

(Quelle:  U. Hippach-Schneider, M. Krause, Chr.Woll, Berufsbildung in Deutschland -Kurzbeschreibung-, hrsg. Cedefop (Europäisches Zentrum für die Förderung der Berufsbildung), Luxemburg 2007)

  • Film: Berufsbildung in Deutschland
    [WMV - 143,32 MB]

     (URL: https://www.deqa-vet.de/_media/Video/a14_berufsbildung-in-deutschland_deutsch_high.wmv)

  •